Aaron "Voice" St. Louis retained his title as International Soca Monarch for Trinidad and Tobago Carnival 2017.

Voice performed at position number 21 and sang his very popular song entitled "Far From Finished". He proved that he is the future and his quality song enabled him to prevail over second place contestant Orlando Octave.  Single, by Octave, is a monster YouTube hit with over 2.5 million views. Devon Matthews placed third with his African Spiritual hit song entitled 'D Journey'. Devon brought on Ella Andall to accompany him and she wad just awesome. In fourth place was Neil "Iwer" George with his song entitled "Take Ah Bathe".  Both Iwer and Ravi B were the first ones to bring some excitement to the audience at the National Stadium.

The singers from across the Caribbean Basin added real Carribbean legitimacy to the competition and there will be some complaints. One can assume that many were disappointed but in the end the majority of those in attendance were pleased that 'Voice' repeated as Monarch. 

1. Voice ------ Far From Finished.

2. Orlando ------ Single.
3. Devon Matthews ------ D Journey.
4. Iwer (The Boss) ------ Take Ah Bathe. 

Reggae, Soca, Calypso online 24 hours.  

The Ultimate Rejects are the new kings of the Road March. Trinidad Carnival 2017.

The Trinbago Unified Calypsonians Organisation (TUCO) congratulated Edghilll “MX Prime” Thomas and his band, Ultimate Rejects, today after their hit song, “Full Extreme”, beat all comers in the 2017 Road March race.

Full Extreme was played 556 times for Carnival while “Your Time Now” and “Beat It”—both sung by dethroned Road March king Machel Montano—came in second and third with 72 and 18 plays respectively.

The result marked only the second time in the last seven years that Machel Montano did not rule the road on Carnival Monday and Tuesday.

Austin “Superblue” Lyons won the Road March title in 2013 with “Fantastic Friday.” But, otherwise, Montano triumphed in 2011 and 2012 and did a hattrick of titles between 2014 to 2016 with “Ministry of Road”, “Like a Boss” and “Waiting on the Stage” respectively.

In total, Montano has eight Road March crowns which has him level with Slinger “Mighty Sparrow” Francisco as third on the all-time list of winners.

The late Aldwyn “Lord Kitchener” Roberts is first with 10 titles while Superblue is second with nine.

MX Prime and the Ultimate Rejects may hope to start their own era.